Let Me Tell You A Story

March 3, 2014

Oh hi, you guys.

My friends and I did a practice table setting for the wedding the other day. The best part about this is that we’ve had fresh flowers in the house all week! And the last few days, I’ve needed the brightness of these pretty flowers in my “Made in Canada” mason jar.

IMG_5614

So late last week we found out that my work visa was denied. Canada hates me. Or something. Not sure. I do know that all hope is not lost. My potential employer is still looking into options, so we will see.

But overall, I am discouraged.

I am tired of never getting to see my fiance — I miss him all the time. I am tired of not having a steady job. I am tired of worrying about money. I am tired of living out of a suitcase. I am tired of explaining that even if we got married tomorrow it doesn’t automatically make any immigration things easier — it is all a long process with more waiting and more unknowns. I am tired of Pinterest and Facebook and Netflix. I am tired of being lonely and bored. I am tired of trying to be strong in this completely abnormal and difficult situation.

I’m tired, guys.

Thankfully, the people around me aren’t as tired as I am. Andrew has been so encouraging and faithful and hopeful. I thrive on expecting the worst, and he’s one of those optimists. (I’m glad.)

So, I continue to wait. I have no clue about a timeline for anything at this point. I am looking for temp work and hoping that Canada eventually decides to call and invite me to take Rob Ford’s job.

I have felt so sad and sometimes mad about this situation. One hour I feel a bit hopeful, and the next, I am so discouraged. I am not feeling all that resilient anymore. But, the day we found out about the visa, both Andrew and I saw my friend Heather’s Facebook status — a couple of verses from the Psalms. And at different times, we were both reminded that the Lord is in this. Even when it is hard to see.

“The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.” Psalm 37:23-24

So, that’s the update. If you think of it, please pray that something will work out sooner rather than later. That would be good.

This is also good when you are feeling sad.

sitdownOnce upon a time, I ate your hamster this morning.

OK, have a good Monday, friends! Thanks for your prayers!

7 Responses to “Let Me Tell You A Story”

  1. Clarissa Sparkman said

    I don’t understand. Is it always so hard to get a Canadian work visa? Did they tell you why it was declined? Do you need me to punch Canada’s face?

    I am so sorry Denise :(((. I really am.

    Your flowers are so lovely. I like that blue/egg/stone thingee too…

    Thinking of and praying for you!!

  2. kmwhales said

    Canada. Barney Stinson was right about you.

    I understand how hard it is. And sadly, have no wise words or comfort for you other than good Bible verses, which can help but sometimes feel vague and impersonal. What I can offer is breakfast/lunch/dinner on me whenever you’re free and want to have a “date”, and that Diana and I are looking into putting a bed in the living room and officially making that your bedroom. ;)

  3. Dear Denise, I am tired just reading how tired you are. There is a much easier Deer to move to. I think Andrew should consider this.
    Plus, it’s colder than the North Pole here and I heard Santa may relocate his reign deer here. You could work for him and edit all his Christmas letters. Look how happy Buddy is working for Santa?! Think about it.

  4. hdallaire said

    I am so sorry Denise. When I read your post, I am reminded of my journey to get a Green Card from the USA. It took a lot of prayers, a lot of encouraging words, a lot of people telling me it was going to come through at some point, etc. I cried, got mad, prayed, got mad again, felt like shooting a few people (but I did not!), waited, cried, prayed, got mad again, etc…. so I can relate to your journey. Yes, the Lord will come through, and yes it is OK to ride the emotional roller coaster. The Lord will still be in control. His plan is the best (even though I often wanted to take charge and go with MY plan). Thank God for Facebook, Skype, Netflix, books, etc. Praying for you!

  5. denisemorris said

    Clair! Come visit me. I need you and your awesomeness.

    Kristy, I approve of this idea. A bed in the living room is optimal for all — Lizzy would like it. Comfy TV watching. Etc. Let’s go mattress shopping this weekend.

    Kerry — Buddy the Elf is super happy with his job! Deer River it is.

    Dr. Dallaire — thank you so much for your kind comments. I know your green card took forever, and now I am starting to understand what you went through! Yuck. Thank you for praying. I would love to see you soon!

  6. Kelly said

    I’m in a cross-border relationship. Thankfully, we are driving-distance, but one of us loses 7-8 hours every weekend to go see the other.

    Given the research we’ve done on visas, we figure that the marriage visa is a better bet than a work permit. But that’s still going to take 9 months minimum (and we’re not even engaged yet!).

    So I just wanted to say that I feel your pain. It’s hard. It’s tough. :( This ‘season of waiting’ and not knowing when things will change, at the mercy of the various governments. You’re in my prayers!

  7. denisemorris said

    Kelly, thanks so much for sharing your story! It’s crazy, isn’t it? Why is it so hard? Hope things work out for you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

