The Land of the Biebs and the Home of the Brave

January 22, 2014

Well, I am back in Colorado Springs with my beloved Pikes Peak!

Alecia picked me up in Denver yesterday and brought me down to pick up my car. My car begrudgingly greeted me with a “service engine soon” light. Any thoughts on why? Is it because it’s been sitting for two months? Do I need all the oils and transmissions and coolants and things changed?? And will all of that be free? Help.

I got back to Ashley’s, which has been my home base the past few months. She has kindly let me stay with her and use all of her water and electricity and fridge space and TV time.

Also, every time I have come home from a trip, she has done something special to the door of my room to welcome me home. So yesterday afternoon, I was greeted by this.

IMG_5241

The Biebs is happy I’m moving to his home country.

IMG_5242

I laughed out loud when I saw the door. That Ashley. She’s so clever. And then I opened my door and was blown away with patriotism and that star-spangled banner yet waving.

IMG_5247

IMG_5250

IMG_5256

IMG_5251

I died. What a stunning, home-of-the-brave welcome!! Ashley is ah-mah-zing.

I am back to healthy eating, guys! (Let’s count how many times I’ve said that phrase in the last few months. Actually, let’s not.) It’s true this time, though. I can grocery shop and cook and be on it. I made this crustless quiche this morning, and it’s so good and easy. I added garlic and bacon and used the cheddar I had on hand. Low-carb city! Do it now!

crustlessquiche

Okay, I best be going. I’ve got a lot of streamers to take down in my room. Oh, if any of you need or know someone who needs some freelance work, let me know! My skills include writing stuff, editing things, eating chips, whining, curriculum writing, article writing, blog writing, eavesdropping, etc.

Have a good day!!

4 Responses to “The Land of the Biebs and the Home of the Brave”

  1. Suzanne said

    I mean, this has to make you feel good about being back in America. And just in time for the Olympics! Any friendly rivalry between you and your man?

  2. denisemorris said

    Yes, it made me feel so good! Oh, there’s some not-so-friendly rivalry. :-) Apparently Canadians always cheer against Americans, no matter what!

  3. Um, would you be free to write my care plan, informative speech and Leadership paper? For free?

  4. denisemorris said

    Chatty — NO!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 376 other followers

