One Day

October 7, 2013

Well, the American government has shut down, so I’ve decided to move to Canada. If they let me. I’m still waiting to hear about my work visa, which is making me insecure because what if they don’t want me? Canada, I will bake you a treat if you let me in.

What are you guys up to? I am homeless and jobless. But at least I get to enjoy Colorado Springs.

IMG_4759

It’s gorgeous and all, but it doesn’t quite compare to the beauty of Alberta’s Gopher Hole Museum.

IMG_4317

I’m actually not at all homeless. I have so many great friends who have been letting me stay with them. When I’m in Denver, I stay with Diana and we pretend to be hipsters in the Highlands. When I’m down in Colorado Springs, I’ve been staying with Micah and Jarred at the Rego Manor or with Ashley at the Boyer B&B. (My friends apparently all title their homes. But I cannot ridicule. I used to call my house Cherry Springs Wonderland. It sounds much more magical than it ever was.) Ashley even leaves me fancy chocolates/Twinkies on my pillow. (Please note that I believe Ashley to have stolen these chocolates/Twinkies from the Rego Manor.)

I’m also not jobless because I have a lot of freelance lessons this month. If you would like to help me come up with an interesting way to tell 7-year-olds about Paul’s life of imprisonment, let me know.

Right now I am writing a lesson on the last couple chapters of Revelation. It is the final words of the story God has been telling since Genesis — since the beginning. In Eden, Adam and Eve lived in the garden God had personally planted for them. God lived with them, walked with them, talked with them. It was beautiful and perfect and whole.

But then, the tree. The fruit. The disobedience. The relationship was broken, and the curse of sin was enacted. And ever since then, there has been struggle.

The earth is not quite as it should be. It floods and burns and wails with storms. It groans for restoration.

People sin against God and against each other. Our relationship with God is often faltering and fragmented, we separate ourselves from him by our choices, by refusing to repent.

Things are not as they should be. People struggle with pain and suffering. Many are burdened with the consequences of their choices, or with the reality of a struggle that has come to them through no fault of their own.

My sister-in-law is at the Mayo Clinic right now — leukemia has grabbed hold of her body and it will not let go. She is in pain, my brother is in pain, the children are in pain, and none of it is their fault. Things are broken. This is not the way it was supposed to be.

Through it all, God’s story has continued. He has worked to restore our relationship with him. He chose a family to begin the process. They were to represent him and his ways. They failed.

He chose a king who would seek after him and lead a great nation. He failed too.

But then came the one who would not fail. Jesus’ death on the cross for our sins and his resurrection from the dead was what could finally reconcile us. In order to begin to lift the curse, he became one for us. It was the victory that no one else could achieve.

The journey has begun — he is the road back to Eden.

We are not there yet. There are still mountains to climb, rivers to wade through, deep crevices in the road. People still struggle. We often choose sin instead of repentance. My sister-in-law is still in the hospital. It is not necessarily easier.

But the road home is there. The restoration has begun. The invitation has been sent.

And Revelation tells us that one day, all will be restored. “No longer will there be any curse.” God will again live among his people and the struggle will be gone. There is no way for me to rephrase what has been said so beautifully in God’s word:

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!”

One day — one day – all will be restored. We will go back to Eden. All will be as it was in the beginning.

3 Responses to “One Day”

  1. […] I posted earlier this week about the lesson I was writing on Revelation. How it reminded me of when things were broken in the […]

  2. […] Him. And the restoration that was started when Jesus came, will continue. Like I mentioned before, one day all will be made right. Death has been swallowed up in victory. It does not get to […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

