Because Lists Are What Make Fridays Fun

February 17, 2012

Friday Listday (clap, clap, clap, clap, clap). It works in my head.

1. Tomorrow is Saturday, and this is my plan.

2. Yesterday my friend Travis said that Carrie and me are his TV life coaches. (I made up the life coach part, but I think it’s a title that I would like to hold). Basically, he said I have good taste in shows. I agree! Some people feel like TV is bad and are ashamed of watching it, but not me. I love TV shows that tell good stories! So, in case you are needing some TV advice that I may or may not have already given you, I recommend the following shows: LOST (duh), Friday Night Lights (I’m not sure that I’ve mentioned this one on the bloggy before. Oh, wait. I mention it every day.), Parenthood, BBC’s version of Sherlock, Downton Abbey,¬†Psych, and Parks and Recreation. I like all of these shows because they either tell really good stories and/or they are clever. I love the clever.

3. Pa built a house. And a door. And a roof. And a floor. And a stable. I spray painted a picture frame once.

4. Again, I just would not have survived very well on the prairie.

5. This absolutely killed me because it is so true. I have a 16-year-old cousin, and so many of his Facebook threads are this dramatic.

6. I think I am going to attempt to make these whole wheat tortillas this weekend. The problem is that I don’t have a heavy duty mixer with a dough hook. This means you should probably get me a KitchenAid.

7. This last video is sobering, but it’s one of the most powerful videos I’ve ever seen. Axis plays it during their presentations, and it gets me every time. It’s Johnny Cash’s final video — a cover of Nine Inch Nails’ “Hurt.” Johnny is reflecting on his life — the things that have mattered and the things that haven’t. Watch it.

I get really caught up sometimes in creating an empire of dirt. It’s so silly. It’s not what matters.

Have a good weekend, friends! I loves you lots!

10 Responses to “Because Lists Are What Make Fridays Fun”

  1. During Pa’s lifetime he built (according to my reckoning) at least five houses; he once built a cellar in a day. Pa is my hero.

  2. I mean *dug* a cellar in a day…

  3. denisemorris said

    LGR, I know! It’s crazy. I just read about him building beds and digging a well too.

  4. kerry said

    I have had a kitchen aid mixer for years and just discovered how cool the dough hook was last weekend!! I made Sarah come watch it with me! Yes, the daughter with the AGD that still lives with me. Who knew it was that easy?? I think I didn’t allow myself the luxury of the dough hook because I was subconciously punishing myself for giving my daughter too much. You must get one. You have been without long enough.

  5. denisemorris said

    Kerry, it’s my next goal — good mixer!

  6. That video is hilarious! The Johnny Cash one.

  7. denisemorris said

    bahahaha — Matthew, you made me laugh out loud. I refuse to say “lol.”

  8. Pa also got a wooden floor (made by himself, naturally) so smooth that little bare feet could run over it without getting splinters, using only an AXE-HEAD! What a guy. (I wonder if Ma knew just how amazing he was before she married him…)

  9. denisemorris said

    LGR, I know! I just read that last night. He was a handyman, for sure.

  10. t said

    Awesome choice. The video is good, but the song should be listened to with eyes closed as well. It’s only then can you hear the mans soul being bared while the volume of the music slowly climbs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers

